Tick Unit

The ILRI Tick Unit has been in existence since 1979 and contributes to animal health research through vaccine development and vector genomics. It can perform controlled animal experiments using up to 16 cattle (the target host for most interventions) simultaneously. The unit includes a unique biological resource not found anywhere else in the world, comprising four genera of ticks: Rhipicephalus, Boophilus, Hyalomma and Amblyomma. Laboratory colonies presently under maintenance at the unit are:

  • Rhipicephalus appendiculatus (seven different stocks and lines from eastern and southern Africa). The R. appendiculatus tick populations include selected lines derived from the Kiambu stock that differ in susceptibility to Theileria parva infection.
  • Rhipicephalus zambeziensis
  • Rhipicephalus evertsi
  • Amblyomma variegatum
  • Boophilus decoloratus
  • Boophilus microplus
  • Hyalomma sp.